top of page

Letter from Andrew Turnbull to James Grant, Mentions Greek Colony

[London], Circa July 1766

“I acquainted your Excellency some months ago that I had then solicited an order for a grant of land in your Province under your government. I obtained that order last month, and am now preparing to depart for Charlestown in the beginning of September at farthest. I flatter myself of being in St. Augustine in November, and I bring my family with me, not doubting but that the soil and climate of East Florida will encourage me to continue in the intention. I mentioned before to your Excellency of settling a Greek colony in that Province. I cannot omit mentioning that I have the greatest satisfaction imaginable in being assured by your friends here that no protection, assistance, and advice will be wanting on your part to promote this affair.

Your Excellency’s

Most obedient and

Most humble Servant,

Andrew Turnbull

Comentarios


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page